Perspective

September 19 || La Jolla Cove, San Diego.
La Jolla Cove, San Diego | Taken via iPhone 6

Life is too short to be unhappy and to think about the past, be happy with everything that you have live like there’s no tomorrow.” -Unknown

The events that’ve occurred over the past two weeks dramatically changed my perspectives on life.  Recently, a girl I knew passed away due to a car accident.  This event left me, my friends, and everyone who knew of the accident in sorrow.  It was unfortunate, unfair, and overall horrible.  However, I’m an optimistic person and would like to say something good did come out of this.  It made everyone, including me, realize how precious, and short life is.  It positively changed my perspectives on life in so many aspects.  Often times, I’ve had a negative outlook of life, but it hit me that life is way too short to spend it being miserable or being afraid to do something.  This week in my English class, we participated in “The Art Assignment” by Nathaniel Russell.  We were required to create a flyer that gave advice, shared something about our lives or promoted an imaginary event and put it out into the world.  Even though the project was just posting a handmade flyer on a light post, I really enjoyed it and learned a lot from it.  I’ve always been afraid to share my ideas out to the world, but in a way, the class assignment eased my fears.  I’m almost positive most people these days are afraid of sharing their ideas or opinions, being alone, going out of their everyday routines, being different, etc., due to society’s social “norms.”  I have these fears everyday; even when I did the flyer assignment.  Thoughts filled my mind like, “What if people think I’m weird for putting a flyer up?” or, “What if people don’t understand the meaning of the flyer?”  Eventually, I realized how foolish I sounded and posted the flyer.  I shared it with some of my friends and received positive comments, which made me feel so relieved.  Overall, these last few weeks, I have learned so many life lessons and came to so many realizations.  Although these life lessons are common and are brought up frequently, I feel as if I actually follow them now, and during hard times I always look back at them. I now have a different (optimistic) outlook on life. I realized that life is too short to be afraid of anything, and to put my ideas out into the world, without fear of judgment.  I Iearned to not take anything for granted, such as family, friends and most importantly my life.  Despite all the ups and downs, I am truly blessed to have the life, family, and friends that I have.

La Jolla Cove, San Diego | Taken via iPhone 6
La Jolla Cove, San Diego | Taken via iPhone 6

Dear Kaylinh,
I’m so bummed I didn’t get the chance to meet you in person; to enjoy your wonderful presence and uplifting spirit I’ve heard so much about.  I can’t wait to meet you one day.  Rest in peace and in paradise, angel.

Love, Joanna ❤

Leave a Reply

